More photos from the conference

Program and papers

Monday, November 29, 2010
10.00 - 10.30 Opening of the Conference Welcome addresses on behalf of:
  • " State Corporation "Rosatom"
  • " Local Government
  • " IAEA
  • Opening Address by IRRC-2010 Chair, Director of SSC RIAR Alexander V. Bychkov
    10.30 - 11.30 General Presentation on behalf of Honorary General Chair Prof. Oleg V. Skiba by IRRC-2010 General Chair, Alexander V. Bychkov "65 Years Experience of Pyroprocess Development in Russia"
    12.00 - 12.30 Alexander V. Bychkov. "Russian and Global Experimental Base for New Technological Platform of Nuclear Power Development. Mechanisms and Procedures for Coordination of International Cooperation"
    12.30 - 13.00 Mark A. Williamson "Closing the Nuclear Fuel Cycle"
    13.00 -13.30 Bandi Prabhakara Reddy "Current Status of Pyroprocess Development at IGCAR" (6,6 Mb)
    14.30 - 15.00 Stephane Bourg "Pyroprocessing achievements in the field of the ACCEPT Project" (4,5 Mb)
    15.00 - 15.30 Palmiro Villalibre "INPRO Approach and Activities to Assess Sustainability of Nuclear Energy Systems Implemented in 21st Century. Collaborative Project FINITE "
    15.30 - 16.00 Annabelle Laplace "Progress of the R&D Program on Pyrochemistry at CEA"
    16.30 - 17.00 Tadafumi Koyama "Pyroprocessing Research development of CRIEPI"
    17.00 - 17.30 Han Soo Lee "Pyroprocessing Technology Development at KAERI" (6 Mb)
    17.30 - 18.00 Jean-Paul Glatz "Pyro-Processing Options for Advanced Fuel Cycles"
    Tuesday, November 30, 2010
    Session: Pyroprocessing: from Science to Technology Co-Chairs: H.S.Lee, A.G.Osipenko
    9.30 - 10.00 Jan Uhlir "Development of Fluoride Volatility Reprocessing Technology" (2 Mb)
    10.00 - 10.30 Laurel A. Barnes "Fundamental Properties of Electrorefiner Salts: Determination of the Potassium Chloride-Uranium Chloride Phase Diagram"
    10.30 - 11.00 James L. Willit "Reproducible and Reliable Electrochemical Determination of U and TRU Concentrations"
    11.30 - 12.00 Takatoshi Hijikata "Development of Transport Technologies for High-Temperature Fluids of Pyroreprocessing"
    12.00 - 12.30 Supathorn Phongikaroon "Simulation of the Current, Potential, and Concentration Distributions along the Cathode of the Mark-IV ER" (12 Mb)
    12.30 - 13.00 Judong Bae "An Electrochemical Study of Lanthanide Elements in LiCl-KCl Eutectic Molten Salt"
    Session : SNF Partitioning & Treatment. Co-Chairs: J.-P.Glatz, M.V.Kormilitsyn
    14.00 - 14.30 Valeri Smolenski "Investigation of the Fundamental Properties of Lanthanides in Molten Chlorides"
    14.30 - 15.00 Steven Herrmann "Separation and Recovery of U and TRU from Irradiated Fast Reactor MOX Fuel via Electrolytic Reduction and Electrorefining" (4,3 Mb)
    15.00 - 15.30 Pierre Chamelot "Electrochemical Behaviour of Lanthanides and Actinides (U, Th) in Molten Fluorides: Application to Separation/Extraction"
    15.30 - 16.00 Mayorshin Alexandr "Study of Oxychloride Compound Formation in Chloride Melt by Spectroscopic Method"
    16.30 - 17.00 Christian Simon "Molecular Dynamics of Molten Salts : Review of MSFR Related Simulations"
    Session: Advanced Fuel - Reprocessing and Refabrication Co-Chairs: B.P.Reddy, Y.M.Golovchenko
    17.00 - 17.30 Benoit Claux "Electro-Reduction of Cerium Oxide into Cerium Metal"
    17.30 - 18.00 Alexander G. Osipenko "Influence of Solvent Nature and Precipitation Conditions on Morphology of Pyrochemical Origin Plutonium Dioxide"
    Wednesday, December1, 2010 / Technical Tours
    More photos from the conference

    Thursday, December 2, 2010
    Session: Innovative Technology. Co-Chairs: A.Orlova, M.Simpson
    10.00 - 10.30 Masatoshi Iizuka "Engineering-Scale Fuel Cycle Tests for Pyrometallurgical Process Development"
    10.30 -11.00 Yasuo Arai "Recent Progress on Development of the Pyrochemical Process of Spent Nitride Fuels for ADS" (1 Mb)
    11.00 - 11.30 Viktor V. Ignatiev "The Molten Salt Reactor: Overview and Perspectives"
    12.00 - 12.30 V. Chistyakov "Analytical Support of MOX Fuel Production Using Pyroelectrochemical Molten Salt Technology"
    Session: Waste management. Co-Chairs: T.Koyama, U.Basak
    12.30 - 13.00 Judong Bae "Preliminary Impact Assessment of Advanced Partitioning Transmutation and Geological Disposal"
    13.30 - 14.30 Andrey Lizin "Immobilization of Salt Waste from Pyroelectrochemical Process: Problems, History, Prospects, Solutions"
    14.30 - 15.00 Albina Orlova "Crystal Chemical View on Elaboration of Ecology Safe Materials for Immobilization of Alkaline Elements of Radwaste"
    15.00 - 15.30 Hui Li "Nuclear-Grade Zr Prepared by Combining Combustion Synthesis with Molten-Salt Electrorefining Technique" (8,7 Mb)
    16.00 - 16.30 Michael Simpson "Experimental Verification of Solidification Stress Theory" (1,3 Mb)
    16.30 - 17.00 Mattew Morrison "Scale up of Ceramic Waste Forms for the EBR-II Spent Fuel Treatment Process"
    17.00 - 17.30 Michael Simpson "Immobilization of Salt from Zone Freezing Process in Zeolite-A" (3,8 Mb)
    17.30 - 18.00 Tadafumi Koyama "Salt and Metal Waste Treatment Technology Development at CRIEPI"
    Friday, December 3, 2010 / Closing of the Conference. Wrap-up Meeting
    Strategy Session. Chair: A.V.Bychkov
    10.00 - 10.40 Mikhail V.Kormilitsyn "Strategies and National Programs of Closed Fuel Cycles: Russian Expert Vision"
    10.40 -11.20 Pavel N. Alexeev "Strategy of Russian and Global Nuclear Power Development"
    11.20- 12.00 Sergey B. Pereslegin. "Foresight of the Global Energy Development"
    12.30 - 14.00 Panel Discussion: Pyro Technologies. The Next Step. Moderator: Mikhail Kormilitsyn. Panelists: Mark A. Williamson, Bandi Prabhakara Reddy, Han Soo Lee, Tadafumi Koyama, Stephane Bourg, Annabelle Laplace, Sergey Poglyad
    14.00 - 14.30 Closing of the Conference